Sustainable aquaculture and aquatic resources management

Mission, structure and governance

What NACA is

NACA is an intergovernmental organisation that promotes rural development through sustainable aquaculture and aquatic resources management.


NACA seeks to improve the livelihoods of rural people, reduce poverty and increase food security. The ultimate beneficiaries of NACA are farmers and rural communities.

How it works

NACA implements development assistance projects in partnership with research centres, governments, development agencies, farmer associations and other organisations. NACA supports technical exchange between members, capacity building, institutional strengthening and policies for sustainable aquaculture development and aquatic resource management.


Membership of NACA is via accession to the NACA Agreement, an international treaty. The agreement also provides for associate membership by intergovernmental organisations and donor agencies.

Current member governments are Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong SAR, India, Indonesia, I.R. Iran, Korea (DPR), Lao PDR, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam.

Structure and governance

The network is coordinated and administered by a Secretariat based in Bangkok. NACA policy is determined by its Governing Council, consisting of member government representatives, which meets annually to articulate needs and set priorities. The NACA work plan is developed by a bi-annual meeting of the Technical Advisory Committee, which is formed from independent technical experts. The work plan is implemented by a network of research centres throughout member states in collaboration with governments, donor agencies, farmer associations and NGOs.

Share this page!

bookmark at: Twitter bookmark at: Facebook bookmark at: bookmark at: Digg bookmark at: Reddit bookmark at: Yahoo bookmark at: Google

Recommend us!